Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Longest Tunnel

A couple of former work colleagues of my brother and I were caravanning at Talybont-On-Usk, Brecon, (Wales, UK) over the weekend. My brother has a canal boat on The Monmouthshire and Brecon canal and motored from his house, on Saturday, to the campsite which is next to the canal to meet up. He invited me to do part of the journey back this morning, through the Ashord Tunnel and Llangynidr Locks.

The Ashford Tunnel has little headroom and no tow-path, the only way for non-motorised boasts to travel its 375 yard length is by 'legging'. It's the longest canal tunnel in the Wales. There are no lights and it's pitch black! The extra shows our boat going through - I've used off camera flash to illuminate it.

The blipfoto shows my brothers boat with some lovely tree reflections and light on the water.

After getting through the locks and having a picnic, Mrs BB and I walked the 4 miles back to our car and left my brother and girlfriend to carry on their journey of a few hours back to their house.

A lovely day messing about on the water and seeing a magnificient piece of engineering and canal history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.