The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Connections

Three years on from this visit and the rusting wheelbarrow at the start of Calum's Road on Raasay has collapsed.  Were the spades in the barrow previously?  If so, somehow I didn't notice them.  In that earlier blip I briefly recounted the story of Calum's Road, described so well in Roger Hutchinson's book of that name.  I would recommend it to anyone who hasn't read it as the story of the strength of will and character of one man to connect his small community of Arnish to the island road that ended at Brochel.

While Blipfoto is a relatively small community of people, a blip can make new and unexpected connections.  When I blipped my first glimpse of the start of Calum's Road in 2014, another blipper (KC2013) commented on it.  She had produced a Radio 4 dramatisation of the story of Calum's Road for Radio 4, and she kindly sent me a few CDs of the production which I had not previously heard.  Those copies have since been shared with friends who have connections with the island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.