Change...

Amongst the changes we are engaged in at present is the conversion of the room that has been my work place and study for 20 years into a bedroom.   My work will now (or soon) be done in a new space we are creating.

I am a creature of work habit.   I like to write surrounded by my papers and books  (usually far too many of both) and it is all going to be a bit of an upheaval.  Those who know me will also know that it takes me a wee bit of time to adapt to such a process !

Anyway I have been wakening up each day recently with the task bubbling away in my mind and although I have cleared a few drawers today  I thought I had to do something to get properly started.

Some books have now been moved (there are rather a lot of them)  and I also cleared a few shelves of the memorabilia of ages: photographs of friends and distant relatives, souvenirs of ministerial overseas visits, old rosettes - and much more.  Some are in this box , which will sit around until I know whether I have shelves enough in the new spot to put some of it out again.  

I had taken Friday and Monday at home to get on with this sort of thing but I actually spent much of today answering emails and taking phone calls about Brexit related matters.    And that is even more uncertain than the fate of my familiar things....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.