First morning

This is the view from my temporary accommodation. I'm on the 8th floor, and if I look to the right, I can see the sea. My hope is to find an apartment a bit closer to the sea, not sure on my budget but I will try.

It was an 11am start today, and the driver was early. We get a driver on day 1, then we're on our own. I was tired, I hadn't slept well, too much on my mind and AC all night isn't good. I opened the window and let the blast from the furnace in, but it was good to have some fresher air inside. 

Inductions from HR, the centre manager who will leave soon, a bit of a building tour, including the all-important coffee shop - we have Costa on site, much better than what we had in Cairo, and with friendly service too. The service was going downhill so I won't miss the team there. I got the IT sorted and the settling-in allowance was given to me. Kuwaiti Dinar - hard currency - I feel rich. It takes 60 EGP to buy 1 KD; 1 kd buys 2.5 gbp - I can worry less about money, finally. And more induction.

A drop-off home was much welcomed, including another supermarket stop - useful as I didn't know what I needed the day before. 

All done in air conditioning - that will be my life for the next couple of months. Less humid today, but still too humid for my liking. 

The centre is familiar but different, same organisation, some things done the same, some differently. 

I finished the day with a coffee with an acquaintance from Cairo - a Brit. Full of tales of the double-standards of the city.... and adventures. 

Flat hunting tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.