snailspace

By snailspace

Whatever am I doing...

I can't quite believe just how much work we are getting through here. The pounds are dropping from our waistlines, that much is for sure. Some progress is by now visible, I think. Much of what we have to do remains a sliding block puzzle... moving this from A to B so that can slot into C and then moving B back to A again in order to reach D andon it goes.

Have taken the somewhat startling decision to throw open our doors for selling days, the first of which will be this weekend, when we try to move all our books, DVDs and wall art from the premises. I am committed to this course since posting the event on the island's local Facebook groups.

The thought of parting with my Folio collection is painful indeed and I dare not even contemplate just how little the return will be on them. I keep telling myself "old spend" and "water under the bridge" and "everything must go". I remain sad. I spent years collecting my books together when I was working and could afford to buy them. I had anticipated an old age spent by the fire, immersed between their wonderful bindings, enjoying words and pictures both at a time when I would not be able to afford to invest in such luxury.

Now they must go, and the majority of them not only unread but unopened. It fair breaks my heart.

Next week will be the turn of my craft materials, I think and the week after that I shall be disposing of kitchen equipment. All these things are precious to me.

At some point I shall have to part with most of my camera equipment too. That will be the saddest day of all, perhaps - though exciting too, as I plan to replace my big lumpy DSLR with something small, lightweight and hip (recommendations for mirrorless kit are invited and welcomed)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.