Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Dave Goulson with a Brian Rix twist.

The plan was to leave home at 4.30 to get parked up in York in time to walk to the station to board the 5.35 Cross Country train to Sheffield which would get me there at 6.20 nicely in time for a pint of lovelyness before going to the library to hear Prof Dave Goulson talk about bees.
The display board at York station read 5.35 due at 5.37 platform 3.. I was a tad surprised when the next train to arrive - at 5.27- was London bound stopping at Sheffield and figured I must've read the board wrong. I should've realised my mistake when I took my seat and the reserved ticket said Newcastle to Peterborough, not York to Sheffield, by the time the penny dropped we were hurtling towards Doncaster and the ticket man cometh. I had boarded the Edinburgh to London that was running some 50 minutes late which was to stop at Doncaster and NOT Sheffield! I jumped out at Donny only to read that the Sheffield train was waiting on the other platform about to leave... Legged it across and managed to get on just as the doors were about to close, I began to worry when I realised there were no coach letters or seat numbers, when it stopped at the next station I began to panic , my train should go from York, Doncaster, Sheffield, not stopping at the small stations, so clearly I had once again managed to
pick the wrong train, a very slow train. We hit the Sheffworld at 6.40 leaving only enough time for me to walk to the venue. On arrival I spied a lady with a clip board taking names, or rather ticking names off the list of people who had booked a place! Whoops!
Fortunately one person had cancelled. Phew!

If you have an interest in bees, in how we can help them, then this guy is a must see.

Look him up. He knows some stuff.

#beequest #abuzzinthemeadow #astinginthetale

Got my pint of lovelyness at the Tap whilst I waited for my return train. And yes I'm on the correct one this time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.