Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Hummingbird Clearwing Moth

I spent a fair amount of this afternoon attempting to get a decent shot while several of these clearwing moths zipped around my Monarda/Bee Balm. The Bee Balm is having a good year for some reason and there are hummingbird moths and the occasional actual hummingbird visiting it. The moths, on the plus side, aren't afraid of people, but they move so fast from flower to flower they might as well be. I love their fuzzy little butts! The only hummingbird I saw out there today was spotted through the window while I was in the kitchen, not while I was out there with my camera. Oh well! 

One side benefit is that it gets me to fiddling with my shutter speed and ISO and what not. Learning things... which is never a bad thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.