Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Suburban

A typical suburban setting for a club in the Northern Counties East League.

It's taken me a while to get around to visiting Eccleshill United, despite them being only a few miles across the valley; it's not the easiest bus route. Tonight I travelled straight from work as it's "sort of" on the way home, and a first time visit is not so daunting on a sunny summer's evening.

The visitors were Shaw Lane from Barnsley, three steps up the football pyramid from Eccleshill in the Northern Premier League. Although it is still very early in pre-season Shaw Lane's class showed, and they ran out 6-1 winners. We shouldn't forget that these games are largely training exercises though, and Eccleshill look set for a competitive season - I'll try to catch them in a league match or two during the season ahead.

Two buses later I'm back home and I even managed to turn a half-hour layover in Shipley into a power-shop opportunity at the 24hr Asda. I have more yellow stickered bread items than you could shake a [French] stick at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.