B.P. Day 16 Alners Gorse Butterfly Reserve

Well the bird group visited this reserve in North Dorset today and I'm really glad that I made the effort to go although I felt very flaky after an hour - Paul drove me - breaking off from striping paint on the outside of the house, as I still can't see properly - my excuse for the very BLURRED photo of a silver fritillary.!!

It was a beautiful place managed with Dartmoor ponies and full of oak, elm  and a variety of wildflowers although butterflies were more elusive than birds - some of the group spotted purple hair- streaks high in the trees and someone saw a comma - I did see gatekeepers  and brown meadow  and ringlet butterflies. Will definitely go back when I can see it properly ( armed with a butterfly guide).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.