Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

Sailing Moon

My co-worker loves to sail. Over the past year or two, I've been just unable to join them on any sailing outings that they've offered to co-workers. Well, after a convoluted chain of events, I found out that they race on Wednesdays, and often they like having extra people on-board as ballast - deadweight to help the boat run faster.

If there's something I can handle, it's being deadweight.

Unfortunately Fortunately, between my minimal prior experience and the fact that I arrived with my biking gloves on (combined with my willingness to volunteer), my co-worker's husband decided that I was to be more than just dead weight, I'd help pull lines.

It was my first experience with sailboat racing, and I had a blast. Unfortunately this was essentially the last race of the season, but I asked my co-worker to keep my girl and I in mind for future outings on the Heat Wave.

We docked during sunset/twilight, and afterwards, there was socializing and free (as in) beer from a tap built into the wall of a shed, or "Wall Beer" as some referred to it. It was a hazy night, but warm, and Milwaukee all lit-up was "trying to look like a city" (to quote a crew member).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.