A Smooth Passage round Hoy

The day started with a real stroke of luck.  We were in the Sheeps’ Hoose cleaning out Bella’s pen.  CMC stopped shovelling and approached me.  She gave me my ring (that she gave me on our silver wedding) which I lost a good while ago (years).  The schoolteacher kicked in as she said ‘And don’t lose it again’!

Seeking to celebrate we went a walk round to the Old Man (height 450 feet) in ideal conditions.  We took other folk with us so they could act as good scale factors.  A beautiful day.  The Hamnavoe is steaming round gently to Stromness with 143 passengers and 62 cars on board. 

I remember I lost my pocket money (1/3d) in the Castlegate in Aberdeen in 1961 - I’m sure if CMC puts her mind to it...................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.