Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Hawick

To Hawick today, to the dental hygienist. She's a lovely lady, but I dread going. The inside of my mouth is very ticklish, and even though she spreads masses of gum-numbing (and foul tasting) gel, I still find it hard not to start squirming during the polishing. But we got there, eventually.

Then for shopping. In our town we have only the Coop, but Hawick has a Sainsbury's, a brand spanky new Lidl, and today I noticed that an Aldi is in course of construction. Wow!

And just across the road, a new distillery is going up. I could see four brand new copper stills, still wrapped in plastic, standing proudly in place. I couldn't get near enough for a decent shot, but I've put it in the extras.

The main shot is Hawick Town Hall, once a very grand building. The High Street where it stands is rather run down at the moment: this is taken from a couple of streets back, where you can see the lovely setting the town has. 

Hopefully, with all the new developments going up, it will begin to thrive once more.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.