The final day in Lancaster...

... and it was seriously raining in the morning. I'd booked a narrowboat tour on the canal and arranged to leave my suitcase in my room for the hotel owner to carry down to reception. It was really heavy so I was very grateful to him. Nice man and nice hotel. 
It was so wet that I didn't take a camera with mw which was a shame because it did ease off a lot and I missed a wonderful shot of the aqueduct we cruised over but I've made my mind up that I wish to return to Lancaster and walk along the canal as far as the aqueduct to get some good photographs, maybe in October.
So the only photograph was waiting at the station for the train.

All went smoothly and a couple of friends were at the airport and on the same flight as me so we had a good chat and a small glass of wine. We boarded on time but it seemed to take a long time to get going. In fact we never got going because the weather in Guernsey clamped down. We sat on the plane for what seemed like forever but was just over an hour. It was tedious but the crew did their very best to amuse us and the pilot invited anyone who wished into the cockpit to see how it all worked. 
Once the flight was abandoned it took time for us all to collect our luggage and get to the customer care desk where they were arranging a hotel for us. It was around 10.30 when we finally got there but they made sure we were able to get a meal and gave us very generous vouchers. So we had an excellent meal and all we had to provide was the wine; and a fair bit of wine was consumed on our table. It was well after midnight when we went off to bed for a very short sleep since we had to check in at 6.30 in the morning.
But I'm not complaining. If the flight had been on time it would have been about 10pm when I got home and there was nothing in the fridge but a bottle of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.