Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Along the road

I had this place I found that was supposed to have a working grist mill that you could visit to see corn being ground into cornmeal but there was not contact info or address..just a general location and road name.  The hubby did not want me to go by myself (and he owed me a lunch out) so we got on the road this morning to ride an hour or so to find it.   We found the road...a dirt road with two mailboxes on it but no sign that said Hogbear Grist Mill.  We know it had to be there as a large creek was seen. So no luck getting my photo.

 So we went to find some lunch at the closest town about 20 miles away.  We looked for something in the general area but this building was the closest thing to a restaurant ....at least it was on a paved road.     

I love finding traces from long ago life in rural South Carolina.  I could spend days and weeks just riding these backroads to see what was there.   Since there is usually not much traffic I can drive myself and just stop in the middle of the road when a photo opportunity occurs.   But I did pull over to the side of the road here since I was driving with Jerry in the car..he does not understand stopping in the middle of the road for a photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.