Just for you............

I know how much you guys like a bit of avocet action so I sacked off the report writing and headed for Oare. The weather was stunning and there were lots of interesting birds to see and.............. the Bonaparte's Gull. Regular readers might remember that I've been directed to look for this little wonder before. My "Big Boy's Book of Birds" suggests that it looks almost exactly like a black-headed gull which is good because there were loads and loads of them about. Someone even helpfully pointed my scope at this special bird but all I could see when I looked were about thirty black-headed gulls. On the upside I saw godwits and egrets and herons and loads of other stuff and a Spitfire flew over and back so it was rather a good afternoon. And it got me away from the builder's who have been drilling and angle grinding and lots of other exciting but noisy things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.