Oldgroaners Phone&Compact

By Oldgroaner

Ready to sail on the high tide

I love it in Eyemouth when what remains of the fleet sets out on the evening tide, as it stirs fond memories of my hometown Kingston Upon Hull when I was young and we had the finest fishing fleet in the world (despite Grimsby claiming that honorific)
Our boats were of course much larger than these inshore boats, as they had to deal with the Arctic seas, but now, these are all that is left to us, and when I see them sail, I envy them so much.........and watch them till they are lost on the horizon.
Tomorrow I shall be going into the Harbour Cafe to have their Breaded Haddock, Chips, Peas, Vinegar  and Tartare Sauce..... Bliss
The Cafe is behind the parked cars to the left of the picture, it is used by the Fishermen in the main, on the walls there are photographs of the sailing fishing fleet of the 1880. and locally painted pictures of the modern boats, along with ship models on the window ledges.
If you visit Eyemouth, don't miss paying the cafe a visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.