Level 4

After putting some rubbish out last night I knew it was going to be a cold start although that didn't mean that I remembered to pick up gloves from the glove shelf in the garage so I had to turn back once I realised that I only had level 1 fingerless gloves and it was at least a level 3 morning. As it turned out, level 3 - the full fingered and slightly insulated gloves were left in the car and I went straight to level 4 waterproof, with a light fleece lining Sealskinz. I wish I'd done the same with the torso-wear. Even though the top had long sleeves, neither it nor the thin, albeit windproof, jacket had any insulating properties at all so it was nearly 10 miles before I'd generated enough heat to feel warm. Better than the level 1 gilet but it'll need to be the level 3 soft shell tomorrow.

Bike Club was a different matter. After a nice sunny day there was still some warmth in the air so fingerless gloves were fine. Climbing the hill and the generally brisk pace meant that it was warm even when we were headed into the northerly wind along the road from Joppa to Granton.

This is less than a minute earlier (51 seconds actually) than yesterday's. I wonder how long it'll be before the whole commute is in darkness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.