Me Tarzan, You Jane !

This IS Jane & I met her in the churchyard today !

 I was killing time because the opticians had told me my glasses would be ready in half hour so I get there & they say sorry it will be an hour per pair ! So I'm walking around the old part of Aylesbury & as I reach the back of the churchyard this girl comes into view....me thinks " I know this woman" so I stop & say hello. She stops looks at me and then says " your face is familiar but I don't know who you are ". So I bend down give her a kiss on the cheek & tell her that my name is Richard. She still looks at me questioningly & so I give in & tell her that she was my next door neighbour for 3 or 4 years. It dawns her then just who I am. We chat, laugh & exchange anecdotes about Grandchildren & then we go our separate ways. I hadn't seen her for a number of years & C was shocked that I recognised her. 

So.... that's the first 20 minutes of the hour sorted. ...I then continue my weary way and take a route down Rickfords Hill. Here I see a man smoking a cigarette & despite being a hater of the "weed" I stop for a chat. He tells me that he is stood there awaiting the arrival of his Grand daughter. We chat. I ask if I can take his picture & he says that because he is a former member of the SAS that he will have to kill me if I try. I did take a couple but promised that no-one else would see them. We talk a bit longer & then he says do you want to come & see the garden - well of course I want to go & see the garden. A secret garden too. We go through these large wooden gates which probably led to stables once upon a time & then he leads me into this huge area of green lawn with mature shrubs, seating & a greenhouse. "Gosh" I says "is this all yours" & he says "Ohhhh No - this is the communal garden for the Alms Houses. They belong to the Thomas Hickman charity, founded in 1695" He said " I'm over 80 & have been here several years"

All the old houses have been converted into flats for the older generation of Aylesbury & its amazing what is there. In the garden is some original stone work from a window that was in St Mary's Church....there is also another path further up  where I took one of the extra shots & that leads to more dwellings that I actually knew about. So it is was interesting hour !

Back to the opticians & one pair were ready it was just the pair I was wearing that needed one new lens. I waited & fortunately they managed to get in done in 30 minutes. I was still late home, but 30 minutes the delivery arrived that I had been waiting for - whew !

Oh yes & whilst I was in the opticians A lady I used to work with came in called June. It was good to see her.

Not much achieved this after noon.

A fine warm (cloudy at times) day.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.