Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

When life brings you lemons.....

I suppose you'd call this a 'Diary Blip' as I make no claim to it being even a reasonable photo. To you it probably just looks like a bowl of cut lemons that are a bit fuzzy at the edges, but it's more than that to me.

Those that know me know I am no gardener, so it was a surprise to me when last year I managed to get a glut of lemons on the small tree in my greenhouse. But what to do with them? The juice from them was lovely but there wasn't much of it as the skin of the lemons was fairly thick. I could have used them for slices to go into a G&T but W prefers a slice of lime in hers and in any event, if we were going to use up all the lemons she would have been off her trolley for weeks. So I made preserved lemons out of them; you know, the sort they use in North African cuisine.

I must admit I was a bit wary of them as the juice seemed to have gone cloudy but we tried one last week and it was delicious! So that went into a chick pea salad and this evening I am making a Morroccan Chicken Tagine to use up a bit more. It's smelling rather good in the kitchen at the moment.

Sadly, on the evidence so far it looks like the lemon tree isn't going to produce anything this year so I'd better make these last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.