NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

Gate to Eternity

I've often passed this strange small building without actually knowing what it is. Today I saw a nice sunlight on it and decided to park my bike and make a shot with my iPhone.

It appeared to be the portal to an old and small, yet beautiful graveyard. Whilst shooting the attendant (Martin) noticed me and asked if I knew what I was shooting. That was the beginning of an almost two hour conversation about symbols on graves, the history of grave architecture, religion, future, eternity and many other topics.

He appeared to be a man with a broad interest who knows a lot about a lot. Very interesting and well worth the unexpected break of an actually very busy working day.

I'll certainly go back with my Nikon and make even nicer pictures of this picturesque graveyard and continue my conversation with an interesting care keeper.

PostScript to questions:
The cemetery is more a monument. I guess the newest grave is over 50 years old and the oldest maybe mediaeval.
My two hour investment is a rare luxury indeed. Actually I didn't have the time, but it was too interesting not to take it. And yes, I've got an independent profession so I can work flexible, but the downside is I often work far beyond midnight. Not complaining, cause I love my freedom and would never want to live a 9 - 5 life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.