Gatekeeper

My first of the season.  Not the sharpest image as this one was hiding and tucked well down in the grass.  I didn't realise it was a Gatekeeper until I saw it on the screen.

I thought I'd walk the field boundary and contribute to The Big Butterfly Count.  Well what a difference ten days make, when I last walked this field path I counted around 30 Ringlets whereas today, I think there were two.  They've cut the hay meadow since then.  Today Meadow Browns were more in evidence, with a few large whites and small tortoiseshells.  They were all rather flighty as the afternoon was warm and windy, so not easy to photograph.

p.s. I missed a day!!  A rainy morning journey which meant which meant we began our journey down the A1 just after 10am.  A traffic queue was just beginning to form as we approached Scotch Corner  but as we'd planned  to stop for a break it didn't really affect us and the traffic was moving when we rejoined the road.  Not so for those travelling north - the traffic queues went on for miles!  I'd planned to take a photo when we visited the Print Fair in Barnsley during the afternoon but somehow I forgot.  There were some really great prints on display, so I hope there were a few more sales after we left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.