Return to the North

By Viking

Crap shot of the bittern

I headed off to Far Ings for a walk this morning and ended up staying in the hide for about 3 hours. Got talking to a chap there about birds and photography etc and the time just flew... as did the bittern - twice! The first time it flew towards us and I was so excited I had the camera on the wrong  focus setting and most of the shots (ok all the shots) were blur. Then an hour or so late it raised its head and flew off right in front of us and I had the camera switched off and by the time I got it sorted I had crapped out on a decent shot again! That said it was so close I could see it with the naked eye and it was a rare and exciting treat that I wouldn't have missed for the world.
In lieu of the bittern I made sure I took lots of other shots!! The focus today ended up being on butterflies and bugs. You can see some great hanky-panky bug shots here as well as more butterfly shots. I nearly blipped the more detailed macro shot of the admiral here but I liked the clarity of the teasel here too, I think it adds to the shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.