CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Old Convent's chapel

I rang my friend Jonathan this morning to see if I could have an osteopathic appointment with him. He asked when I wanted it and I said 'soon', to which he replied 'how about 2pm?'  A perfect result. I have been a patient of his for more than twenty years and he sorts out my regular, if relatively minor issues. He used to have a practice in Harley Street which suited me when I was living in London. Now he lives in a wooden house in a woodland glade on the edge of Slad village.

It was a delight to see him and I've come away feeling so much better and more flexible in my back and neck. He is a star, and a well known member of our community. I feel much happier about going on holiday  on Friday.

Jonathan has a treatment practice in Cheltenham as well, but in Stroud he works from The Old Convent, which has been a centre for small businesses for many years with many health practitioners using the old nun's cells. Helena even rented a space there many years ago.

But the The Old Convent has recently been bought by a new set of owners who have pledged to address the rather run down nature of some of the old stone buildings. In particular the chapel attached to the south end of the main building had suffered from neglect and the damaged gutters had over a number of years led to serious water penetration of the Cotswold stone. The stone frames of the nearest window have collapsed in places.

As a trustee of Stroud Preservation Trust we have been lobbying for the former owners to repair the damage to this listed building. We have been hoping that new owners will do the work. so when I saw the gate was open leading to the side of the building I couldn't resist walking around the side and taking a couple of shots for the record. 

Although there is some scaffolding set up around the damaged corner of the chapel  I was rather sorry to note that the stone hadn't been repaired, which you might just be able to see in this picture. But the stonework generally does look much drier than I've seen it before, and I think the gutters now look as if they have been replaced.  So that all bodes well. We shall have to keep an eye on it, and the rest f the building some of which has other issues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.