Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Silvery Checkerspot

We have a gazillion of these things fluttering about our place at the moment. Several of them found my Crown of Thorns (houseplant spending the summer outdoors) this afternoon. Several weeks ago I noticed masses of caterpillars on some weeds along the driveway - which seemed, after a bit of research - to be the caterpillars of the Silvery Checkerspot butterfly. Now they have all become butterflies, it would seem. I may have blipped the caterpillars... ah yes - here! That was the first wave. But this is the result of a second wave, I think. If I can find it, I'll add a later photo of MASSES of caterpillars as an extra. Anyway - masses of caterpillars followed by dozens of butterflies. And repeat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.