Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Third Time Lucky

Back again to the same site. No sign of the 'blue' today but 100 yards further on, I finally managed to photograph the fritillary. The first time for me in Fife.
It turned out to be a Small Pearl-bordered Fritillary (Boloria selene)

CORRECTION (20/06/2019):  I have been informed by an expert that this is in fact a Dark Green Fritillary (Argynnis aglaja). I have still to get an image of a small p-b fritillary.

I have made it my blip because of its significance to me although it isn't technically the perfect image.
It is partially obscured by a plant and photobombed by a harvestman (Opiliones) 
If it hadn't been for its significance for me, I would have blipped my 'extra' of a small copper.


Oh how we Blippers suffer in the quest to bring you the best image each day. Yesterday, I was lying flat on my stomach in the grasses to get my images of the common blue butterfly. As a result, I must have picked up some harvest mites (or berry bugs to us) Trombicula autumnalis. Woke up in the night with severe localised itching. (Does that mean it is autumn already?).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.