Endless Weekend

By Endless_Weekend

My dad

My dad, Isidore Greenwald, was a budding photographer and this shot was set up by him and taken with a timer, I believe.  It was taken in 1940, before he married my mom in 1941, and before he had his three daughters.  A quieter time in his life when he was still free and easy.  

He was profoundly hearing impaired, and attended the New York School for the Deaf.  He was a big shot at the New York League for the Hard of Hearing when my mother showed up to see what the league could offer her.  I think for him it was love at first sight.  Before marriage he was an Eagle scout, and had a troop of deaf boys; some of "boys" remained his friend for his whole life.  I inherited his great sense of direction, his love of doing projects (although he always followed through), his love of nature and the outdoors, and maybe a bit of his corniness.

Tomorrow my dad would have turned 103.  Happy Birthday, Daddy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.