One of our courgette flowers, after the rain

The thunder in the night woke me several times and I heard the pitter patter of rain, followed by occasional torrential downpours. When we got up the sun was shining and the air seemed beautifully clean. Bomble headed out to the garden after eating his breakfast and I followed him.

I could see this huge courgette flower from the house and knew I wanted to record it. By the time I was ready with my camera, a big bee buzzed around the flower but it was very blurred. Then this hoverfly arrived for which I was very grateful. I've become really interested in such insects recently and beginning to watch them more carefully.  Yesterday one flew beside me for many minutes, just inches away from my leg which it was obviously considering as a landing pad.

I gather that today's blip will be a sort of odd milestone, so I'm pleased it is recording this delightful plant. It is the most successful courgette I have ever grown and is prolifically producing tasty offerings, some of which we had for supper last night. Long love blip and all who sail with her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.