Today's Special

By Connections

Chicago Sunset

I had a difficult time sleeping last night, as the train felt more like a boat on rough seas or at times a bucking bronco. It's one thing to sit on the daybed or in the chair in our tiny cabin under such conditions, and quite another to be lying on the pulled-out daybed, in the dark, with your whole body being affected by the constant random motion and odd sounds.

Add to that my continued disgruntlement at not being able to blip in "real time" or comment on my Blip buddies journals, and today was not such a good day for me. I didn't get any decent photos until we reached Chicago - and that ties in with the wonderful luck and hard work of the train engineers that got us to The Windy City in the nick of time to be able to get onto our next train, heading to Washington, D.C.

Our Seattle to Chicago train had fallen far behind schedule, and we were told that we would not be able to get to the next train in time. Phil and I spent a good part of the late afternoon coming up with some alternate plans, but at the very last minute, the Chicago to Washington D.C. train was held long enough for us, and others, to race across the platform and get into that train. Hooray!

Being able to keep to our carefully-planned schedule more than made up for another night of rocking and rolling, and little sleep. I'm sure to sleep well in the William H. Webb Room at our Virginia B&B.

(I'm running my Mac on battery power in Union Station, so I won't be able to comment yet...)

(Backblipped September 20, 2012, at Union Station, Washington, D.C.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.