West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Batu caves

It was strange being back in Kuala Lumpur. I had to remind myself not to say hello and thank you in Vietnamese! I went to the Batu Caves which I’d not been to on my previous visits. They are just to the north of the city and very easy to get to by local train. There are temples in two of the caves and a large section that is under conservation.

One was the Disney version of a cave temple. The cave temple I went to in Sri Lanka had ancient wall paintings whereas this was all coloured lights and huge statues with facial hair!


I climbed the 200+ steps up to the ‘Dark Cave’ - the one under conservation. You can only go in as part of a guided tour. It was busy so I had to wait about an hour for a place on a tour but it was worth it. Lots of different types of Limestone formations and lots of information about the different animals living in the cave, including thousands of bats. Too dark for good photos though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.