HEY, BIG SPENDER!

While sorting and filing and losing other important bits of paper, I came across my old Post Office Savings Book. It looks as though I made the last withdrawal just before I went off to university, and that represented more than two weeks wages from my temporary job. Once I was at university, I was on the minimum grant which covered fees and accommodation but Dad could only afford to give me an allowance of £2 a week, and it didn't seem to be the thing to get a job during term time then.

Here's an extract from the rules at the back of the book: "Up to £10 is payable on demand at a Savings Bank Post Office, but the paying officer retains the book for examination at Savings Bank Headquarters when more than one withdrawal on demand over £3 is made in any period of seven days...." Reading on, I must have filled in an application form to give notice of my withdrawal of £15, especially so soon after taking out a fiver!

I'm off on another short sister break (a short break with sisters, rather than a break with short sisters) in the morning. Back in a few days. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.