Leeds, Leeds, Leeds

The title of this blip reflects the fact that I've been in Leeds three times today, and that is three times more than planned - starting with being there past midnight last night because of our cancelled train. Today I found myself in another little predicament, again involving a train. After lunch I went with TJ as far as Guiseley, getting off there to head on to the office in Shipley, leaving her to stay on to Leeds from where she'd travel on to Manchester Airport. We said and hugged and kissed our goodbyes and in the heat of the moment I contrived to leave my wallet on the train seat.

I always like to leave a little bit of myself behind when we part but I had not intended to leave her all my cash and cards! It's just as well she doesn't have expensive tastes! Anyway, all would have been fine if either of us were more savvy when it comes to our mobile phones. I immediately found that mine had run out of charge whilst being away, and after borrowing a phone from the station ticket office I was unable to get through to TJ. I was left stranded with no cash and no means of communication.

The chap at the ticket office phoned customer services at Leeds and arranged for a call to be put out to hopefully intercept the errant wallet. I had no choice but to get the next train myself to Leeds in the expectation that TJ had got the message and handed it over for me to collect. With still no means of getting in touch with her I arrived in Leeds, only to be met with a blank when I confronted the people at the barrier, at information services, at passenger services, and then at lost property.

Finally, I went over to the platform from which the Manchester Airport train leaves and found that the guy who dispatches the trains already knew my story. They'd made announcements both on the platform and on the train itself and had generally gone to great lengths to find TJ ... but all to no avail. Only half jokingly, he suggested that she might have hit the shops with my cash! At this point it began to get a little disconcerting!

The thought occurred to me that perhaps she had missed seeing the wallet, and the fact that it had not been handed in suggested it would be prudent to get home to a phone and cancel the cards if it had still not turned up. I blagged my way back to Ilkley without a ticket and, with considerable relief found that TJ had called Forrest to let him know that she had handed the wallet into passenger services, at the very place I had called to check. Now, that was a little annoying.

So, it was on the next train back to Leeds again to confront passenger services. This time I saw someone different who was actually expecting to see me. I was finally reunited with my wallet, leaving just enough time before catching the next train back to go through the Dark Arches below the station and get a Leeds Cty blip for the first time. I do rather like this whole area around the canal where I think the juxtaposition of old and new, mill conversions and futuristic offices, work surprisingly well together.

Thanks for all the wonderful comments and hearts over the last few days of my trip away. Once again I've felt very honoured to be able to share the adventure with you, and I hope now to catch up with a few of you myself. Cheers guys!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.