Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

heavy drinkers

Its a long story.

I play the baritone sax which is huge, has a case the size of a small coffin and weighs a ton. Consequently I've taken to leaving it in the town band room between rehearsals and practicing on the alto at home.

This summer Ive noticed that I'm having loads of problems getting reeds to work properly and I put this down to a bad batch. Ive also noticed that its getting a bit damp in the band room as the heating is off for the summer but it was only tonight I put 2 and 2 together when I found all my reeds were blue and hairy with mold !

There's about £50 worth of reeds all damp and useless so I am trying a tip from a pro, soaking them in Vodka. This should kill the mold, refreshes the reed and also . . . Tastes a lot better than moldy wood !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.