Back-o-the Knee

A few weeks back I discovered a large lump at the back of my right knee. I looked it up and it seemed to be a Bakers cyst......................ie not sinister. I went to my GP he thought the same but as it wasn't presenting as a classic Bakers Cyst, he referred me to Orthopaedics at the Royal Infirmary.

That appointment was today. It was at 9am. The Royal in Edinburgh is miles away from anywhere. Driving at that time in the morning through the city centre is just just a mental thing to do. Edinburgh has roadworks and diversions EVERYWHERE! I left my house in Corstorphine at 8.05am and arrived at 9.05am...........AN HOUR of traffic jams and red lights. The petrol light was on and I didn't pass a single petrol station.

When I got to the massive hospital I had to park then once in, to run down the longest corridor in the world to the Orthopaedics reception where they told me that the Dr hadn't arrived yet!! I sat for ages with the mantra "I've got a huge lump inside my leg...........what if it's not a harmless cyst?" running through my head. I'd been fine about it until I stepped into that hospital.

Then my name was called by a consultant who looked like Dr Christian from embarrassing bodies. I walked into the room to be faced with THREE very very young male student Drs who all looked like they should be in a boy band. "we've an audience today" is all he said. I couldn't believe it........horrible. I was so glad that I'd chosen my outfit carefully. A skirt and leggings. If I'd worn jeans I would've had to have taken them off and I would've been standing in my pants with four men looking at my knees!

Then I had an xray which was fine but my knee had to be examined again whilst the students looked on and answered questions. He thinks it's most likely a Bakers cyst but to be certain I have to have an MRI.

Something for me to look forward to then...............................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.