An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

River Reflection

Having been ill all day, much confined to bed, I finally thought that I must take my blip pic for the day and get the local weekly paper, which may have my photo (my Saturday blip) of the reggae band. (It did get in, by the way!)

Considering it's the same price at Waitrose, or Tesco, I opted for the former, a longer, but more scenic walk. Armed with only the fast Nikkor 50mm f1.4 D and D7000. I tried pics of all the spiders congregating with their webs under the lights of the underpass; couldn't get a composition which showed both a spider clearly enough along with the rows of receding lights - a longer lens will be needed, next time.

My back-up plan was a past favourite, lines of shopping trollies, but at 7pm, it's peak time with loads of people and busy-body Waitrose youths (staff) hanging about and in my still fragile state, didn't want to bother beyond one shot, which I wasn't happy with, anyway.

So, thinking I was going to have to rescue something from the previous two, on my return I saw this floodlit, brick modern office block. It was a lot darker in the river's reflection but I liked its impressionistic colours and opening up the shadows revealed more. I haven't enhanced the colours, any more than brightening the whole scene.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.