DWBham

By DWBham

Voting and pine cones

Today we went to drop off our ballots--I asked my mom if she wanted to vote and she said yes, "Whatever you think I should do," so I had her sign off on my two choices--and then we took a walk at Cornwall Park, where pine cones were in abundance.

But back to the voting. Before dementia struck, my mom helped canvass and do other election-related tasks for the Whatcom Democrats, so I feel confident that I know how she'd cast her vote.  

Today on the trail she didn't say she thought that "someday this will all be houses," which she often says when we walk in city parks. Instead she said she wished she could walk on the middle trail, between the field and the gravel path, and not see anyone. That was the first time she'd ever mentioned that more rugged trail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.