A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

That's All Folks

For the past school year this lot have turned up on our doorstep most school mornings with a smile or a moan or a funny story. In uniform or in various costumes. It's been quite lovely and I shall miss them.

Luckily for Anna she is making the transition to secondary school with two of them and will even start off in the same class but they are walking in the opposite direction so Anna will be first instead of last.

I started blipping the January Anna was in nursery so bar one term her entire 8 years of Primary School have been in the background and sometimes the foreground. She has dealt with a best friend moving away and a brief difficulty with some bullying in Year 3. But overall it has been an amazing start to school life for her and been a lovely place to develop from 3 to 11 years old. And in the last 2.5years where we have lived with a lot of instability and uncertainty it has been a reassuringly consistent presence.

Off to collect her for the final time shortly and head to the park for a year group picnic. Will be interesting to see how the kids are. Some of the parents are quite on the edge.

And not sure about me. I have spent most of the day feeling quite excited about the future. I have somehow secured two pieces of work for the autumn and as petrifying as it is to have to get my brain in gear again I am really looking forward to both of them. Jackson is doing brilliantly every week and we are getting ever closer to his return to school.

And as for the girl of the moment. I know she is ready and really excited for secondary school.

We didn't really get to do the leaving school thing properly with J and I am just loving getting the chance to do so. Plus I think my strategy of going out in a big reptastic bang has meant I have spent so much time and energy on and in school over the last few weeks I am frankly sick of the place and quite delighted never to go there again!

Onwards and upwards,
Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.