uncharacteristic

I initially thought that I'd only be delivering the boy to his grandparents to allow them to waggle him at the bus-conveyed local Olympians but as he was late in finishing his lunch and late at getting to sleep I didn't think I had enough time to scootle round to the back of the closed-road area to where I'd told them would be a good place to wait and just went up Market Street instead, where he vacillated between waving at them across the other side of the road and waving at the people in the rear of the two buses, who appeared to be non-Olympian people who were probably just there to wear silly chains and fancy hats during the awarding of the freedom of the city to the Hoy. Unexpectedly he went all shy and clingy when the barriers were removed from the roads sufficiently to meet up and insisted on being carried home on the bike in the rain rather than on the bus with the grandparents. He'd actually complained loudly that he wanted rain when we first headed out from the house despite him only having been awake for a couple of minutes. Although he'd been a bit stroppy before lunch and technically not entitled to treats I took him back through a couple of tunnels, which meant that I was going nicely slowly along the Warriston path when the rear section of my back mudguard decided to snap, though it couldn't get very far due to still being attached by the rear light's wires.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.