West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Bumpy landing

Today my Dad and I went out to the Isle of May. The crossing was a bit rough but it was definitely worth it as we saw loads of puffins. The only other time I've been there I found it impossible to get a shot of flying puffins. This time I was happy to have quite a few in-focus (as well as some spectacularly out of focus) shots. The wind was very strong and the puffins were struggling to land, almost hovering and I think that helped with getting in focus shots.

There's another puffin in flight in the extras, along with a group on the rocks. We saw a Black Backed Gull with a puffin in its beak. I wasn't fast enough to get a photo and I didn't see what happened to the puffin. Apparently there are more gulls on the Isle of May this year and more puffins being caught by them. But someone else on the boat had seen a gull with a puffin and the puffin had escaped and flown away.

I'm definitely missing the heat and sunshine of Asia. My first day back was warm and sunny but it's been cold, wet and windy since then - typical Scottish summer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.