The infinite fun wire

In a recent tidy up - the one where I nearly but not actually sorted out the music room - I consigned the BT telephone to the attic. I don't know my phone number and the handset has sat there, neglected, on the hall table, with it's little display showing 13 unplayed messages, perhaps from some off-shore call centre offering to help me sort out my PC if I would only let them control it.

These days my mobile phone is the only phone I have and need. Not just for talking to people, of course, but for my diary, email, the news, , accessing the Web, Wikipedia, music, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Messenger, iMessage, WhatsApp, and Snapchat, not to mention its camera.

And with the advent of 4G and its burgeoning ubiquity its easy to think that I don't need broadband either. Actually, I often find myself in places where I turn off my wifi because 4G is faster. 

So it would be easy to forget how much I do need my broadband at home, especially for the Sonos. There was a time recently when I was without broadband for a couple of days (ultimately, I had to replace the router) and suddenly I couldn't access Apple Music (or Spotify or Amazon Music), I couldn't look up recipes, or watch movies, or work except by doing everything on my phone. 

And all of that comes through one of these wires in the photo, which runs from the top of this old wooden pole to one of the upstairs windows. It seems so archaic: a fragile, easily dismissed foundation supporting so much of my life. It made me think of Iain M. Banks' Minds, with their 'Infinite Fun Space', i.e. the universes they could create in their AI brains, that were so distracting and absorbing that there was a danger they would neglect their existence in real space. 

****
-11.3kgs BLOODY HELL! I think this is an outlier but it won't be for long
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.