Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Venezuelan Food - P.A.N

We went into Cambridge this morning, purposely to see a man who makes and mends leather bags; he told us he is always there on Sunday and Monday. He was not there last Monday and he was not there today, so a bit of a wasted journey. However, it was an excuse to have coffee and cake as well as lunch although we did not go to one of our usual places for lunch.
 
Today’s picture shows some gluten-free Venezuelan Food. Cambridge market now has a variety of “street food” stalls and I had seen this one a few weeks ago, although I did not buy anything on that occasion. However, on that occasion, I was told that Tesco sell the mix. I looked on the Tesco web site and discovered that the mix stated “very low gluten”. Today I actually challenged the lady selling the food that it was not gluten-free. She produced her mix, which actually is gluten-free and from the extra you can see that it states quite clearly on the front of the packet that it is gluten-free’; compare this with the one sold in Tesco, the second extra picture, which does not have the symbol. So Coeliacs beware, this mix is okay, the one Tesco sells is not suitable for Coeliacs, although for those who avoid gluten, as a fad diet, will be fine with the Tesco mix. The lady sold me two packets of the mix, one for me and one for my grandson. My husband and I both had one of these “corn cakes”, with different fillings; both were delicious and very filling.
 
The afternoon was spent being rather lazy, watching a film on television and doing some knitting.
   
Happy birthday NG, wherever you are

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.