Another interesting find!

In between the raindrops today I went for a quick trip to my favorite meadow high on the South Downs. 
This meadow is an amazing place, full of stunning wild flowers, such as Harebell, Wild marjorum, Rest harrow and the Pride of Sussex Round-headed Rampion as you can see in my extra. It is also a place of surprises, and turns up an unusual insect or two every year. 
Well today I found this interesting fly, when I took the shot I thought it was Rhingia campestris, but when I looked at the shot on the camera I thought it was probably some type of Horse fly, due to the patterned eyes - turns out it was neither!
It is actually Stomorhina lunata, the Locust Blowfly! a quite unusual blowfly that feeds on locusts in North Africa, and come here as summer visitors, however it is possible it may be breeding in the UK, taking a liking to grasshoppers.
I am just amazed, of course I will irecord it, I think  it is quite a handsome fly as flys go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.