The Atlantic waves

The sun shone brightly so we headed down the coast to see the lie of the land. Local people seemed to also be on the road so we didn’t go far.

We still had navigation problems using the modern technology in a brand new car, and by the end of the day we had bought a local printed map which still seems far more appropriate to me.

We then headed along the coast in the opposite direction and I was hoping to find some little coves, but I think the coast is too rocky with high cliffs in many places.

We returned to eat a good meal in Comillas and I had a delicious local fish called dorade and a good bottle of white wine. A siesta seemed appropriate as the Spanish way is to eat quite late.

We finished the day by going to the small port area at the west end of the beautifully sandy beach which was still busy late in the afternoon. We both love being by the sea and hearing the sound of the waves hitting the shore line. At the far end of the beach the rocks on the promontory were being washed by these big crashing waves. I could have spent hours just sitting there watching and listening. I expect I shall be back there soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.