Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Sunday 23rd July 2017

I'm wondering if Someone is trying to tell me something. Having been tested to the limits last Sunday by the rowdy baptism crowd, my preferred meditative approach was frustrated yet again this morning. A large and very loud gentleman puffed and wheezed his way to the pew behind. I'm not going to reveal his identity, though I do know it. I could feel the heat from his efforts radiating forwards, and knew from previous services when he had sat towards the back of the church what we were in for when proceedings began. I wouldn't have minded the ear-splitting volume quite so much had he known the correct words of the service and could hold a tune. So, another Sunday morning's peaceful reflection shattered and another wrestle with my conscience re. loving one's neighbour etc.

Happily the afternoon was much quieter, and I was able to make some inroads into my book club novel which I'm quite enjoying. "I Found You" by Lisa Jewell, if anyone's interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.