Happy Birthday Jae!

It's Jae's 20th birthday today. Yesterday I phoned my Dad to see if he'd mind me changing to going there Tuesday this week instead of Monday since it was Jae's birthday. He was quite put-out, saying he had plans to visit my Aunt and Uncle, where my Mum refuses to go, and he couldn't possibly change those plans.

So reluctantly I agreed to stick to the usual routine despite feeling bad about letting Jae get up to an empty house. I got over to my folks' bungalow to find my Dad sitting there peeling potatoes for lunch! He'd changed his mind as it was raining and he didn't want to get wet going on his mobility scooter to collect his car  from the garage! He'd called his brother and told him but didn't bother to tell me! I wasn't particularly impressed!

Then after lunch, my boss called my mobile. He wanted me to work as the lad who was meant to be in was off sick. I said I couldn't, as we were going out for a family meal for Jae's birthday. It's the first time I've said I can't if he's asked me to work, but he still ranted at me!

So I was even less impressed! It's like they think my whole life should revolve around them and I should always be prepared to drop everything to fit in with their plans!

I didn't of course, and after doing the Tesco shop, we went out to the Slug and Lettuce. It's changed - and not for the better! The menu for evening has shrunk to just a few choices, the cod Brian wanted was "off" and he had to have plaice which he wasn't keen on, and worst of all, although the half price cocktail offer is still on, you now have to have two the same rather than being able to choose two different ones!

Even so it was good to go out with Jae and spend some time with him! I even got to take photos of him, so it was an excellent evening!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.