Not a good day

Today has not gone well.

It started when I opened the curtains and blinds and saw the wind and dampness... I still biked to work but I now wish I hadn't. I got 11 km into my ride when I picked up a puncture, much cursing later, I gave up trying to fix/replace the inner tube and walked the remaining 5.8 km to work (arriving very late).

At work I then spent most of the day dealing with a production issue that wasn't fully resolved until after lunch. I tried to repair/replace the tube on my tyre with no luck at all, but though all was well so when I did leave I managed 2.3 km before it went flat and I gave up and walked back and then to the station to take the train home.

After dinner I pumped the tyre/inner tube up once more and low and behold it's sitting there at the correct pressure doing nothing at all. I have a new spare inner tube to replace the one that isn't well, but even so I've very confused... It is true that patches do work better at higher pressure than lower pressure, so it could just be that I could managed 4.8 mbar at home but only a 3 mbar with the hand pump and that just wasn't enough to compress the patch into place...

No matter I'll leave the tyre in the kitchen and if it stays up I'll ride it tomorrow, but with a new spare inner tube with me. If it goes down I know to bin it. I don't really want to put the spare on at the moment as I then have no spare so I'd rather not ride in that situation, even if I only get about one puncture a year, it's highly annoying!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.