Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Elizeu, His Fruits, And The Billboard

Every time I take our daughter to her school we pass Elizeu's fruit stand. He knows how much I love very sweet pineapples, and so, from time to time, he flags me down. 
He and his stand beneath a tree have always fascinated me, and I tried to photograph him many times, always believing that it was the colours that fascinated me. But the pictures were never satisfying. There were a lot of colours, yes, but they seemed to conflict and create patterns of associations that didn't make much sense. Sometimes the fruits established a connection with the coloured billboard above Elizeu's head, sometimes it was Elizeu's shirt that dominated the scene, at other times the fruits seemed to completely disappear for some reason.
It was only yesterday that, in an effort to brake the distracting power of hectic colours, I had the idea of going mono. And that's when Elizeu and his stand came alive in a play of lights and shadows. The image is still chaotic, there is still so much to see, but - in a way - mono made it "slow down" and now allows you to appreciate all the details without being hassled by colours that incessantly call for your attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.