lovelife209

By mindful_life

Tiny Tuesday-eat me

My photo came at the last minute today! I was just preparing dinner and this funny looking mushroom jumped out at me asking to be blipped!!! It is another reminder that it really doesn't matter what something looks like, it is still beautiful.

It is day two of the summer holidays and we spent the morning swimming with my sister and niece. When I was younger my parents used to say I was a water baby- I would be in the pool as much as possible. I look back and wish I had carried on with my lessons as I think I could have done quite well but I stopped my lessons because a particular girl in my class used to be mean to me and say I was fat. Children don't know how harmful these words can be. I remember crying about having to go to my lessons so in the end they stopped.

Now though I still get a lot of pleasure in the water and swim a couple of times a week. I find it really calming and peaceful and manage to think about storylines for books I am going to write! Characters and plots. It was a little different today as the children were there but watching them enjoying the water is a pleasure too. They are very confident swimmers now which will be great for our imminent holiday!

Being near water always brings a calmness to me that I don't get anywhere else. Several years ago I lived in an apartment with a sea view and I remember many late evenings and early mornings just sitting and looking out. One day I want to live by the sea again as I believe I am at my most content when I am.

Today's water and Siamese mushroom reminded me of some quotes from Alan Watts who was a philosopher - I love listening to his lectures.


"Things are as they are. Looking out into the universe at night, we make no comparisons between right and wrong stars, nor between well and badly arranged constellations."
Alan Watts

"To have faith is to trust yourself to the water. When you swim you don't grab hold of the water, because if you do you will sink and drown. Instead you relax, and float."
Alan Watts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.