Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Observatory

It was a lovely clear dry night so at 11pm I headed out to get an 'astro' photograph. I wanted something a bit different so tried Penallta Colliery site which is now a nature reserve. After trekking in pitch black along trackways I eventually got to 'The Observatory' which is a steel structure on top of a mound. I've been there in the day but finding it in the dark was a whole new ball game!

The one I like best is the Observatory with the 'Milky Way' galaxy behind it. I was there for a couple of hours enjoying the stars and the occasional hoot from owls. I had a feeling I was not alone and I could just make out an owl on the steel arm watching me. I went to my camera bag to change the lens to a fast night lens but it flew off!

A lovely few hours out; a cuppa when I got home and I slept soundly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.