Green surprise

I really didn't think there was going to be the chance to take anything at all today, it's been so very, very busy with more furniture shifting and sorting. We even had a couple of women from a local charity just turn up 'on the off-chance'. They bought a few items though, so they didn't have a wasted journey.

Anyway, these leaves covered in raindrops presented themselves to me just as I was rummaging for my keys to the alleygate at the side of our house. Couldn't resist them.

Rol has been baking parkin, so the house is full of the smell of gingeriness. For those who may not be familiar with parkin it's a sort of gingery cake traditionally eaten in the autumn and winter, preferably whilst watching a bonfire burn.

A lovely evening lies ahead: hot bath, sausage and mash with onion gravy (a la Nigel Slater), red wine. And parkin.

I may have lots to worry about but I also have a lot to cherish and give thanks for. And I do.

No plans for the weekend. Just being at home with Rol and the cats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.