fotolife

By dennisbarlow

My first edible dormouse!

I took a brief break from ferrying grandchildren to their various activities today and settled down in a hide to photograph birds or insects. Nothing appeared. Suddenly I was conscious of movement near my elbow; a shrew had poked its head into the hide.  Wanting to travel light, I had only a camera with a 100-400 zoom lens so I carefully retrieved my iphone from my pocket. By the time I had set it up, the shrew had climbed across my camera and left the hide. No photo then! I'd heard a scratching noise by the side of me so turned to see if it was anything interesting.  Amazing - the first glis glis I'd ever seen, and it hung around while a took a number of shots with the 100-400 on the XT2.  The lighting was very poor but I'm over the moon that I've seen a glis glis at last.  Also spent some time in the open watching young rats and birds feeding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.